Tags

, ,

My husband is the only person I know who can turn Valentine’s Day into a beer-drinking contest. We have three girls who are now all grown up. Ever since they were little, he treated them like princesses on Valentine’s Day. They would wake up to heart-shaped pancakes, balloons tied to their chairs, candy and flowers at each place, AND a classic book such as Of Mice and Men. When our oldest went off to college, she said with a wistful sigh, “I am going to miss Dad’s Valentine’s Days the most.” I tried to not take it personally.

This year he sent them each a Valentine’s card with a new $100 bill tucked inside. He wrote on the card, “The challenge is on. See who can find the coolest beer and the coolest place to drink it. Submit your photo to the judges.”

My husband is making a goofy face in our backyard. One kid is fishing on the Snake River is Boise, one is snowboarding in Vail, and the other is on the stage of a comedy club in Los Angeles. And no, she isn’t a stand-up comedian.

What a crack-up. Here is a collage of the photos:

Why am I telling you all this? Because . . . it is interesting that the beer-drinking collage got about a billion “Likes” on Facebook but some of my well-crafted, thought-provoking, and imaginative blog posts got six views. Go figure. Maybe I should blog about beer.

