Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

Just when you thought you were safe from me spewing pesky words to look for in your writing, I bring you two more.

“Go” 

And her boring alter ego

“Going” 

Here are examples of how these two little words can suck the lifeblood out of a sentence:

I go shopping for cheap shoes. 

That is a lie. I love expensive shoes.

I shop for cheap shoes

~~~~~~~

Let’s go to London by boat to see the Queen. 

For her Golden Jubilee perchance? (How British of me.)

Let’s sail to London to see the Queen. 

~~~~~~~ 

I am going to have to edit my novel after reading Robin’s wise advice.

 Do you mean Robin’s wisecracks?

I must edit my novel after Reading Robin’s wisecracks.

~~~~~~~ 

I am going to keep the momentum going. 

Would you just be “going” already? Geez.

I will keep up the momentum.

Granted, those sentences are not up for a Nobel Prize in Literature, but I think you can get the point.

I’m embarrassed to tell you how many “go’s” and “going’s” I edited out of my novel. However, I will tell you, if you tell me what you find.

For advice on other words that sneak into your writing, clink on the links below:

As the photo says . . .

