Tags

, , , , ,

Certain phrases set my teeth on edge. How about you? These phrases are tired because we hear them multiple times a day.

What would you add to the list? Comment below and if we get a good list going (I am confident we will), I will do a second post and credit you for your addition.

 It is what it is.

If it wasn’t what it is, what would it be?

My bad.

Poor substitute for saying “I’m sorry.”

At the end of the day . . .

But it is still midday.

He reached out to me . . . as in, “He called me.”

Rather touchy-feely.

Don’t go there.

Where would you like me to go?

Just chill.

How? Stick my head in the freezer?

I, personally think that . . .

 ~ Or ~

In my personal opinion . . .

~ Or ~

My personal preference . . .

If it isn’t your personal whatever, whose would it be?

The reality is . . .

Thanks for clearing up what is real and what is fake.

I literally (insert verb)

As in, “I literally exploded.” If pieces of you aren’t stuck on the ceiling, you didn’t literally explode.

I actually (invert verb)

As in, “I actually fainted.” If the paramedics weren’t called, you didn’t literally faint.

It’s all good.

No it isn’t. That phrase bugs me.

If you are interested, I did two posts (ages ago) on my grammar/usage pet peeves here and here.

