Tags

, , , ,

This letter from Amanda will break your heart.

Letter Seven Dated July 31, 2012

(Notes in parentheses are mine.)

Hey Mamacita,

I’m dropping you a quick note to ask a huge favor. Remember I mentioned my friend Rebecca? She is the only one in my Platoon who hasn’t received a letter from home. I don’t know what her family’s deal is. Seriously, mail is the best part of the day. I honestly treasure every letter and read them several times. I am hoping you would send Rebecca a short letter and a small care-package . . . a couple of handy things like baby-wipes, deodorant . . . you know the deal. It would be so nice. The letter could just say something like you are glad I made a friend and I would be complaining so much more if it weren’t for her.

We seriously need mail here. She is so strong, just like me, but after of month of no word from home, and our Drill Sergeant saying it is because no one loves her, she cried today. Really shitty. I know it is a lot to ask but I don’t know how else to help her. If you don’t have time, don’t worry about it.

I love you and miss you.

XOXO

(After I dried my tears, I made a mad dash for the drugstore and put together a care-package for Rebecca. I included a letter thanking her for her service and friendship with Amanda.)

Enhanced by Zemanta
